Sections of the National Speleological Society

A section of the NSS is an internal organization made up of individuals involved in a common study topic or interest area related to speleology. Sections are not geographically based and may have members across the country and around the world.

NSS Sections


American Spelean History Assn

Mailing address:

American Spelean History Assn
6304 Kaybro St.
Laurel,  MD 20707-2621

Contact:

Bob Hoke
bob@rhoke.net
Phone: 301-725-5877

Contact:

Dean Snyder
dsnyder3@ptd.net
Phone: 610-799-5030

Online:

www.cavehistory.org

Meetings:

Annual business meeting held at the NSS Convention each year


Arts and Letters Section

Mailing address:

Arts and Letters Section
124 4th Ave NW
Largo,  FL 33770-1810

Contact:

Carolina Shrewsbury
speleoart@hawaiiflow.com
Phone: 727-424-2903

Contact:

Ken Storey
kennethstorey@charter.net

Online:

www.caves.org/section/arts_and_letters/

Meetings:

Wednesday Luncheon Meeting at Convention


Biology Section

Mailing address:

Biology Section
256 Blakeney Rd.
Catonsville,  MD 21228

Contact:

Megan Porter
porter@umbc.edu
Phone: 443-388-0351

Contact:

Katharina Dittmar de la Cruz
katharinad@gmail.com

Online:

nabn.info/

Meetings:

one meeting a year at NSS convention, usually just after the biology session


Cave Conservation & Mgmt Section

Mailing address:

Cave Conservation & Mgmt Section
208 Cheatham Dr.
Smyrna,  TN 37167

Contact:

John Hoffelt
mossyguy@comcast.net
Phone: 615-351-3742

Contact:

John Wilson
jmwgeo@gmail.com
Phone: 804-741-4274

Online:

www.caves.org/section/ccms/

Meetings:

During annual NSS Convention


Cave Diving Section (CDS)

Mailing address:

Cave Diving Section (CDS)
295 NW Commons Loop, Suite 115
Lake City,  FL 32055

Contact:

Forrest Wilson, Vice Chairman
vicechairman@nsscds.org
Phone: 404-292-5613

Contact:

Gene Melton, Chairman
chairman@nsscds.org
Phone: 904-669-9532

Online:

www.nsscds.org

Meetings:

May 28-30, 2011 CDS Annual Workshop


Cave Geology & Geography

Mailing address:

Cave Geology & Geography
PO Box 101737
Anchorage,  AK 99510

Contact:

Paul Burger
Paul_Burger@nps.gov
Phone: 575-302-3673

Contact:

Tony Troutman
tony.troutman@carbonates.us
Phone: 832-799-1084

Online:

www.caves.org/section/geogeo/

Meetings:

Annually at NSS Convention


Cave Photography Section

Mailing address:

Cave Photography Section
PO Box 1048
Radford,  VA 24143-1048

Contact:

Karen M. Kastning
karen@skyhopper.net
Phone: 540-639-4666

Contact:

Bill Frantz
frantz@pwpconsult.com
Phone: 408-356-8506

Meetings:

At the Cave Photography Section luncheon during the Annual Convention


Communications & Electronics

Mailing address:

Communications & Electronics
431 Westford Rd
Milton,  VT 05468-3620

Contact:

Brian Pease
bpease2@myfairpoint.net
Phone: 802-893-0343

Contact:

David Larson
DELarson@aol.com
Phone: 805-967-7458

Online:

www.caves.org/section/commelect/

Meetings:

At the Annual NSS Convention (usually Monday)


Digging Section

Mailing address:

Digging Section
3120 Risner St
Las Cruces,  NM 88011-4822

Contact:

Kenneth Stabinsky
nmbatty@zianet.com
Phone: 575-636-7767

Contact:

John Dunham
seileonne@gmail.com

Meetings:

Annually at Convention


Human Sciences Section

Mailing address:

Human Sciences Section
3703 Rockdale Road
Millers,  MD 21102-2619

Contact:

Jennifer Neemann
dr.jen@verizon.net
Phone: 410-952-6081

Contact:

Jim McConkey
mcjames@verizon.net
Phone: 443-921-9200

Online:

www.caves.org/section/hss/

Meetings:

annual meeting at NSS National Convention


Medical Section

Mailing address:

Medical Section
#5 Foxboro Dr
Vienna,  WV 26105-1939

Contact:

Stephen R. Mosberg
cavedoc@suddenlink.net
Phone: 304-295-5949

Contact:

Jay Kennedy
caver_doc@hotmail.com

Online:

www.caves.org/section/medical/

Meetings:

during annual NSS Convention


Speleophilatelic Section

Mailing address:

Speleophilatelic Section
12834 Fantasia Dr
Herndon,  VA 20170

Contact:

Lawrence Cohen
chickenhill99@hotmail.com
Phone: 703-437-7881

Contact:

Roger McClure
ROGMCCLURE@aol.com
Phone: 937-233-3561

Online:

www.caves.org/section/stamp/

Meetings:

Annually at the NSS Convention


Survey & Cartography Section

Mailing address:

Survey & Cartography Section
6304 Kaybro St.
Laurel,  MD 20707-2621

Contact:

Bob Hoke
bob@rhoke.net
Phone: 301-725-5877

Contact:

Dwight Livingston
dwightliv@verizon.net
Phone: 410-877-9098

Online:

www.caves.org/section/sacs

Meetings:

Annual business meeting is held each year at the NSS convention


Vertical Section

Mailing address:

Vertical Section
1284 Lower Ferry Road
Ewing,  NJ 08618-1408

Contact:

Bill Boehle
wfboehle2@comcast.net
Phone: 609-771-6969

Contact:

Dick Mitchell
Mitchellrichardl@aol.com
Phone: 720-304-8070

Online:

www.caves.org/section/vertical/

Meetings:

Vertical Section Meeting/Wednesday/at Convention


Video Section

Mailing address:

Video Section
6572 Woodbrook Dr SW
Roanoke,  VA 24018-5402

Contact:

Dave Socky
sockydr@cox.net
Phone: 540-989-7693

Contact:

Bob Montgomery
wyocaver@aol.com
Phone: 307-266-6929

Online:

www.caves.org/section/video/

Meetings:

Yearly at the NSS Convention