Bulletin of the National Speleological Society - ISSN 0146-9517
Volume 33 Number 4: 135-140 - October 1971

A publication of the National Speleological Society

The Classificaiton of Australian Cavernicoles With Particular Reference to Rhaphidophoridae (Orthoptera)
Aola M. Richards


The most generally accepted classification of cavernicoles into three main categories-trogloxenes, troglophiles, and troglobites-is restated. A proposal by Hamilton-Smith (1971) to divide troglophiles into two groups based on knowledge of the Australian fauna is invalidated and shown to be based on insufficient data. The cavernicolous status of some species of Macropathinae (Rhaphidophoridae) is discussed, and, on the basis of their ecological and reproductive behavior, all species studied so far are classified as troglophiles. No trogloxenic Macropathinae are known.

This page last updated: 27 June, 2002 9:45
Web Author: Jim Pisarowicz