SWR Contacts

The following National Speleological Society grottos are member grottos of the SWR.
See the NSS directory or the latest issue of the Southwestern Cavers for the most current meeting and contact information.


Escabrosa Grotto (Tucson, Arizona area)
Gypsy Underground Grotto
Lubbock Area Grotto (Lubbock, Texas area)
Mesilla Valley Grotto (Las Cruces, New Nexico area)
New Mexico Tech Student Grotto
Pajarito Grotto (Santa Fe/Los Alamos, New Mexico area)
Pecos Valley Grotto (Carlsbad, New Mexico area)
Permian Basin Speleological Society (Midland/Odessa, Texas area)
Sandia Grotto (Albuquerque, New Mexico area) 
Sierra Blanca Grotto (Ruidoso NM area)
White Sands Grotto (Alamogordo, New Mexico area)

If you have questions about the Southwestern Region of the NSS, please contact the Regional Chairman
Elected Officers of the Southwest Region - 2017
Region Chairman: Gerald Atkinsonjerryatkin@aol.com
Vice Chairman: Steve Peerman gypcaver@comcast.net
Secretary: Carol Belski Belskic@windstream.net
Treasurer: Kate Bach SWRegionTres@gmail.com

Appointed positions in the Southwestern Region:

Gypsum Karst Project (GypKaP) Director: John Lyles
NSS Southwestern Conservation Activities Contact Janice Tucker janice.tucker@live.com
Southwestern Cavers Editors Carol and Dave Belski
BLM-SWR Liaison Gerald Atkinson
NPS-SWR Liaison Dave Decker
USFS-SWR Liaison Ken Harrington
WNS-SWR Liaison Jennifer Foote bigredfoote@yahoo.com
Honorary Membership Award Chair John Lyles jtml@vla.com
Tom Meador Award Chair C.L. Kieffer Clkieffer@gmail.com
Webmasters Jennifer Foote and Pete Lindsley Bigredfoote@yahoo.com

 NSS Youth Group Regional Coordinator for Southwestern Region

The  NSS Southwest Regional Coordinator for the NSS Youth Group Liaison Committee is Deanna Younger. The next generation of cavers depend on what they experience now, and this is a youth group’s connection to caves and caving. The Youth Group Liaison Committee connects this generation of cave explorers and the next through youth groups by seeking to include the sciences and arts of speleology and cave exploration in their program, and by involving the Regional Coordinators, partners, associates, and Grottos of the region. Deanna, who started her caving experience in Luray Caverns in Virginia, has a website and she is happy to answer any youth group questions you may have. This is especially important when you have a youth group such as scouting or church groups and they need information on caving and potential trips.

SWR Activities and History
SWR home
Important Caver Information + Links

SWR Business
SWR Membership SWR Contacts

Rev. 12-20-2017
SWR pages maintained by Jennifer Foote and Pete Lindsley