Conservation Division Contacts

Division Co-Chiefs

Jim Werker & Val Hildreth-Werker


Cave Biological Response Committee
Cave Conservation Committee
Jim Werker & Val Hildreth-Werker, Co-Chairs
Geocaching Committee
David Irving, Chairman
Liaison for International Speleothem Protection
Thomas Lera, Chairman
Mammoth Cave Restoration Committee
William Copeland, Chairman
Resource Preservation Committee
David Joaquim
Vandalism Deterrence Reward Commission
Sarah Richards, Chairman




Regional Conservation Representatives


Arizona Regional AssociationSteve
Southwestern RegionJanice
Mid-Atlantic RegionDoug
Rocky Mountain RegionChloe
Southeastern RegionJohn
Virginia Area RegionJanet
Western RegionJoel Despain



NSS Conservation Task Forces


A Conservation Task Force (CTF) is a group of Society members or an existing organization formed specifically to investigate and resolve a certain cave and karst conservation problem. These organizations agree to the purposes of the Society and are overseen by the CTF Committee in the department of the Administrative VP.


CTF Coordinator: Jonathan Beard


Hawai’i Cave Conservation Task Force(vacant)(vacant)
High Guads Restoration Project CTFJennifer
Klamath Mountains CTFSteve
Ozark Conservation Task ForceKathy
Twin Lakes Conservation Task ForceJohn