The James G. Mitchell Fund was established in 1965 and is maintained by contributions to the National Speleological Foundation. This award includes a cash award for the best scientific paper presented at the NSS Convention by a student member (or members) of the Society. Eligible papers shall be judged by an interdisciplinary panel appointed by the Mitchell Award Sub-committee Chair.